Cover Your Tracks

Find out how to keep your visits to the Beendigen website private by deleting your internet history, cookies and clearing the search in your toolbar. If you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online maybe you could use a computer that's not in your home, for example at a library or a friend's house.

'Hide this Page' button -  What is this?

If you click on this button it will immediately take you away from the Beendigen website to Google's homepage.

If you are using a computer in a public place, or somewhere that someone might see which website you are visiting, you can use this button to hide what you are doing quickly.

Remember someone can still press the back button on your browser to see which site you were visiting, so if you want to hide your visit to Beendigen completely, you should close your browser by pressing the 'X' button in the top right hand corner of your page and clear your internet history and cookies.

How can I hide my visits to the Beendigen website?

When you visit websites, your browser remembers lots of information: which sites we've been to, what you've downloaded, and much more. This is called your internet history.

You might not want other people to see you've been looking at the Beendigen website, this page tells step-by-step how you can clear this information. There two things you need to do to clear your history:

Delete all cookies from the temporary Internet files on your computer and delete all the websites in your history folder.

Don't worry, deleting these isn't difficult - Just follow the steps on this page for your browser.

If you want to go on the internet without storing any information you can use private browsing.

What is Private Browsing and how does it help?

Private browsing is when your browser (e.g. Firefox or Google) does not save any history, cookies or temporary files while the session is open. 

It is good to use if you want to visit the Beendigen site in private but don’t have the time, or often forget to delete your history afterwards. It covers your tracks whilst you browse instead of you having to delete everything afterwards. 

Please remember, if you want to download any files or create bookmarks, make sure you clear your history as well, as these could be still saved.

How do I delete data from my browser?

For help deleting data from your browser, read below:

Internet Explorer 6

When in Internet Explorer 6 go to the menu bar at the top of the page.

  1. Click on Tools. 
  2. Go to the bottom of the dropdown menu and click on Internet options. This will open a box with the names of several different sections along the top. You will already be in the section called General. 
  3. In the middle of this box is a section called Temporary Internet Files. Click on the button marked Delete files. 
  4. When the box pops up, tick the Delete all offline content box and then click OK. 
  5. When your computer finishes deleting your temporary internet files, you will be back in the General Internet Options box. 
  6. Look at the section below called History. Here you can click on the Clear History button. 
  7. A dialogue box will ask you if you want to delete all items in your history folder. Click Yes. 
  8. Click OK to close the Internet Options box.

Internet Explorer 7 & 8

  1. Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. 
  2. In the General page under Browser History, select the Delete button. 
  3. Either select and delete each section: Temporary internet files; Cookies, History; Form data and Passwords. or Select the Delete all button at the bottom to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 9

  1. Click on the ‘gear’ icon in the top right hand corner and select Internet Options. 
  2. In the General page under Browser History, select the Delete button. 
  3. Tick each box: Temporary Internet files, Cookies, History, Download History, form data, Passwords, InPrivate Filtering data.
  4. Un-tick the ‘Preserve Favourites website data’.
  5. Select Delete to clear everything.

Internet Explorer 10

  1. Move the mouse pointer to the right hand side of the page to bring up a side panel. Click on the Settings icon (looks like a gear) and select Internet Options.
  2. Go to the Safety menu and select Delete.

Safari (Mac)

Resetting Safari clears the history and cookies but also clears the downloads and removes any saved user names and passwords or other AutoFill data and clears Google/Yahoo search entries.

To do this:

  1. Go to the Safari menu at top left hand screen. 
  2. Choose and click Reset Safari.

Firefox

  1. At the top of the window click on the Firefox button and go to the History menu.  
  2. Click on ‘Clear Recent History’. If you're using XP: Select the Tools menu and click on Clear Recent History.
  3. A pop up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop down list. For example, the ‘Last Four Hours’.
  4. Click on ‘Clear Now’.

Google Chrome

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Click on the Chrome menu icon in the top right hand corner (three lines).
  3. Select ‘Tools’.
  4. Select ‘Clear browsing data’.
  5. A pop up window will appear. Choose a time range to clear from the drop down list. For example, the ‘Last Four Hours’.
  6. Tick all of the boxes.
  7. Click ‘Clear browsing data’.